Jan 18, 2022  
Graduate Catalog 2015-2016 
Graduate Catalog 2015-2016 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Hunter College Senate

The Hunter College Senate, chartered in 1970, is the principal governance body of the college and the only such body that holds a governance charter with the CUNY Board of Trustees. The Senate has authority to determine college policy in matters related to:

  1. Curriculum
  2. Academic requirements and standards
  3. Instruction and the evaluation of teaching
  4. College development, including master plan
  5. Computing and technology

Representatives of the faculty, student body, and administration constitute the voting membership of the Senate and serve for a term of two years. The elected officers of the Senate include the chairperson, vice-chairperson, and secretary of the Senate, and the chairperson of the Senate’s Evening Council, who constitute the Senate Administrative Committee.

Regular meetings of the Senate are planned for one-and-a-half hours and are held twice a month. Additional monthly meetings are called as needed. Election of faculty and student members to the Senate occurs during the spring semester.

Many standing committees and a varying number of special and ad hoc committees accomplish much of the work of the Senate. Membership on committees is representative and open to all faculty and students by election of the full Senate from a slate recommended by the Nominating Committee and by nominations from the Senate floor.

Faculty members and students are encouraged to become involved in the meetings of the Hunter College Senate and its committees.

Further information may be obtained by visiting the Senate Office, Room 1018 Hunter East Building, (212) 772-4200, or at http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/senate.